February 28, 2021/Media, Press

North Carolina Democratic Party Elects Dr. Bobbie Richardson New Party Chair, Announces New Party Leadership

Today, at the semi-annual State Executive Committee (SEC) Meeting of the North Carolina Democratic Party, hundreds of North Carolina Democrats elected Dr. Bobbie Richardson to serve as state party chairwoman. As the first African American woman to chair the NCDP, Chair Richardson leads one of the most diverse leadership teams in party history. 

“I am honored that my fellow SEC members have chosen me to take on this important role and lead North Carolina Democrats as our party prepares for the 2022 midterm elections,” said Chair Richardson. “Together, we’ll fight for a fairer, more just North Carolina, recruit candidates that reflect the diversity of our state, and organize everywhere to elect Democrats who will be champions for working families across our state.” 

“Serving this state and our party over the last four years has been one of my life’s greatest honors, but I know that North Carolina Democrats are in good hands with Bobbie,” said former Chair Wayne Goodwin. “With her at the helm, North Carolina Democrats’ best days are ahead. Together, we will carry the fight forward for a brighter future for our state.” 

“We are so proud to welcome Bobbie as our fearless leader,” said NCDP Executive Director Meredith Cuomo. “Our team is ready to hit the ground running and get to work building a strong state party infrastructure and standing up for the values we believe in.” 


Former Representative Bobbie Richardson was elected Chairwoman after serving one term as first vice-chair. Chair Richardson previously represented Franklin and Nash counties in the North Carolina General Assembly, serving from 2013-2018. Chair Richardson is a retired educator and administrator, with 35 years of experience as an educator in North Carolina public schools.


North Carolina Democrats also elected a diverse leadership team, representing the African-American and LGBTQ+ communities.

First Vice-Chair

Former Senator Floyd McKissick was elected first vice chair. McKissick served 13 years in the NC Senate before being appointed by Governor to the NC Utilities Commission where he is currently a Commissioner. He previously served as a County Chair for the Democratic Party in both Durham and Warren Counties and on the NCDP Executive Council.

Second Vice-Chair

Matt Hughes was reelected for a third term as second vice-chair. Matt, the state party’s first out LGBTQ+ officer, has been serving as Second Vice Chair since 2017. A Hillsborough Town Commissioner, Hughes brings a wealth of experience to the NCDP with seven cycles of experience leading transformational change within our party.

Third Vice-Chair

Shannon Auer was elected for her first term as third vice-chair. Shannon is a lifelong Democrat from Catawba County. She has held leadership roles in the Democratic Women of North Carolina and the Young Democrats of North Carolina.


Melvin Williams of Duplin County was reelected as Secretary for his sixth term. He is responsible for meeting minutes and writes the “Good News About Democrats” newsletter.