February 4, 2022/Media, Press

All 8 NC GOP U.S. House Members Voted Against Funding to Improve 44 Airports In Their Districts

Over the next five years, President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law will deliver more than $458 million to improve airports across North Carolina. This funding will make taxiway and runway expansions, renovate terminals and improve noise prevention. 

“All eight members of North Carolina’s Republican U.S. House delegation have done nothing but complain about supply chain issues over the past several weeks. When it came time to pass legislation that would improve our state’s airports, bolster supplies chains and lower costs for families, Senators Burr and Tillis put partisanship aside while their Republican U.S. House counterparts opposed the bill for political gain,” said NCDP Spokesperson Ellie Dougherty

President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law will provide funding to improve 44 airports in North Carolina Republicans’ congressional districts: 

Rep. Greg Murphy (NC-03)

Albert J Ellis: $1,737,407

Coastal Carolina Regional: $1,447,441

Michael J Smith Field: $295,000

Kinston Regional Jetport at Stallings Field: $295,000

Dare County Regional: $159,000

Washington-Warren: $159,000

Billy Mitchell: $110,000

Ocracoke Island: $110,000

Currituck County Regional: $159,000

Rep. Virginia Foxx (NC-05) 

Wilkes County: $295,000

Ashe County: $159,000

Foothills Regional: $159,000

Hickory Regional: $295,000

Gastonia Municipal: $159,000

Shelby-Cleveland County Regional: $159,000

Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07)

Wilmington International: $3,781,091

Cape Fear Regional Jetport/Howie Franklin Field: $295,000

Clinton-Sampson County: $159,000

Northeastern Regional: $159,000

Elizabeth City CG Air Station/Regional: $159,000

Duplin County: $159,000

Henderson Field: $159,000

Columbus County Municipal: $159,000

Odell Williamson Municipal: $159,000

Curtis L Brown Jr Field: $159,000

Rep. Richard Hudson (NC-08)

Fayetteville Regional/Grannis Field: $2,142,598

Concord-Padgett Regional: $1,832,642

Stanly County: $159,000

Montgomery County: $110,000

Rep. Dan Bishop (NC-09)

Charlotte-Monroe Executive: $295,000

Anson County – Jeff Cloud Field: $159,000

Laurinburg-Maxton: $110,000

Moore County: $295,000

Rep. Patrick McHenry (NC-10)

Statesville Regional: $763,000

Lincolnton-Lincoln County Regional: $295,000

Statesville Regional: $763,000

Rep. Madison Cawthorn (NC-11) 

Asheville Regional Airport: $4,309,300

Western Carolina Regional: $159,000

Macon County: $159,000

Avery County/Morrison Field/: $159,000

Jackson County: $110,000

Rutherford County-Marchman Field: $295,000

Rep. Ted Budd (NC-13) 

Asheboro Regional: $159,000

Mid-Carolina Regional: $295,000