MINUTES NCDP STATE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL 6:00 PM, DECEMBER 20, 2021

State Chair Dr. Bobbie Richardson called the meeting to order. Anna Tilghman led the Council in the Pledge of Allegiance. Anna led the Council in a Moment of Silence after the State Chair asked members to remember the victims of tornadoes and the late State Representative George Miller of Durham.

Secretary Melvin Williams conducted the roll call which showed the following members were present:

Dr. Bobbie Richardson	Matthew Balance	Carl Newman
Floyd McKissick	AI Heggins	
Matt Hughes	Jon McLamb	
Shannon Auer	Felita Donnell	
Melvin Williams	Julia Buckner	
Anna Tilghman	Elke Weil-Millan	
Veleria Levy	Tina Marshall	
Denise Adams	Tyler Beall	
Shelia Huggins	Kelvin Stallings	
John Verdejo	Herb Harton	
Chris Hardee	Ryan Jenkins	
Jesse Goslen	Valencia Handy	
Sonya Bennetone	Doug Auer	

There are 54 Members of the Executive Council. 22 members are needed to constitute a Quorum. 27 members were present and, thereby, a Quorum was declared to be present.

Floyd McKissick made a motion to approve the Minutes of the previous Executive Council meeting. Betsy Wells seconded the motion which was approved by a unanimous voice vote.

State Chair Richardson stated that the next SEC meeting will be held on Saturday, January 29, 2022. Lorenzo Pedro read the SEC meeting resolution which stated this meeting will be virtual. Ryan Jenkins made a motion to approve the SEC meeting resolution. John Verdejo seconded this motion. This motion was approved. Anna Tilghman reported on the recommendations from the ad hoc committee which she chaired. The committee's purpose was to make a recommendation about remuneration for the State Party Chair. She said the committee recommended a stipend of \$33,000 for the Chair in the 2022 budget. Anna moved to adopt the committee's recommendation.

A wide-ranging discussion ensued about this recommendation. Among those who participated in this discussion were: Anna Tilghman, Floyd McKissick, DeeDee Adams, Ryan Jenkins, Melvin Williams, Marilyn Carter, Paul McAllister, Herb Harton, Tyler Beale, and Wayne Goodman.

Ryan Jenkins made a motion to call for the question. Tyler Beale seconded his motion. The motion to call for the question was passed unanimously.

The Council then voted unanimously to approve the motion to establish \$33,000 as the State Chair's 2022 stipend by a voice vote.

Anna Tilghman announced that the Finance Committee has finished its recommended 2022 Budget for the State Party. She also announced that copies of this recommended budget will be sent to all Executive Council members on December 31, 2021. It will be discussed at the Executive Council meeting on January 10, 2022.

Second Vice Chair Matt Hughes presented a report from the Code of Conduct Committee which he chaired. Council members can click this link to read the report of the Code of Conduct Committee:

https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0?ui=2&ik=e07cda0476&attid=0.1&perm msgid=msg-

f:1719707461224762184&th=17dda0d317e40b48&view=att&disp=inlin

Matt pointed out that the recommended changes to the Code of Conduct included:

- Specific identification of offences covered

- Specific identification of Democrats who are covered
- Statement of exact violations and penalties
- Victims' rights
- Victim must file complaint and state what actions are sought

State Chair Bobbie Richardson asked what action Matt's committee wanted the Executive Council to take tonight. Matt replied that his committee wanted to present a preview of their recommendations and to receive feedback from Council members.

The following State Party Officers made reports on their activities and actions to the Council:

- State Chair Dr. Bobbie Richardson
- First Vice Chair Floyd McKissick
- Second Vice Chair Matt Hughes
- Their Vice Chair Shannon Auer
- Secretary Melvin Williams
- Treasurer Anna Tilghman

Tenth Congressional Chair Doug Auer asked how SEC members can get an item on the agenda of an SEC meeting.

Fourth District Chair Jesse Goslen said that there needs to be a discussion about when the redrawn congressional districts will be organized. State Chair Richardson replied that this subject needs to be discussed as soon as redistricting is final.

Julia Buckner made a motion to adjourn. Anna Tilghman seconded the motion which was passed without objection by a voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted, Melvin Williams, State Secretary North Carolina Democratic Party