## MINUTES NCDP STATE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL JUNE 25, 2020

State Party Chair Wayne Goodwin called the meeting to order at 7:30PM. He appointed Chris Hardee to be Parliamentarian for the meeting. He announced that First Vice Chair Bobbie Richardson will preside over the part of the meeting which is held in executive session.

Secretary Melvin Williams conducted the Roll Call which determined that 39 of the Council's 53 Members were present. The following Members were in attendance:

Felita Donnell
<b>Jarrett Patrick</b>
Julia Buckner
David Salazar
Tom Rothrock
Ginger Walker
Daniel Varga
Grace Galloway
Vinod Thomas
Randolph Voller
<b>Crystal Cavalier</b>
Wendy May
Janice Alison
Kennis Wilkins
Betsy Wells
<b>Charles Johnson</b>
Brenda Pollard
Dee Jones
Sybil Mann

Secretary Williams reported that a quorum was present.

The Chair stated that the purpose of this meeting was for the Executive Council to hear an appeal by Edgecombe County Chair Rev. Roosevelt Higgs from the Council of Review's recent ruling on a petition by five Edgecombe Democratic leaders.

It was determined that the appellant, the Rev. Roosevelt Higgs, was present and that three of the petitioners were present.

Chair Goodwin read out loud the proposed Rules of Appeal for Council to follow during tonight's meeting. Brenda Pollard made a motion to adopt the rules which had been announced by the State Chair. Cliff Moone seconded her motion. This motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

The rules provided for the following allotments of time:

- Five minutes for Rev. Higgs to present his appeal
- Five minutes for Council of Review Chair Sybil Mann to present the Council's determination.
- Five minutes periods for questions from each side
- Thirty minutes for Council members to debate the issues in this case

Kathy Sinclair explained why a correction needed to be made in Rule # 6.

Cozzie Watkins made a motion for the meeting to go into closed session. Kennis Wilkins seconded her motion. This motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

NCDP First Chair Bobbie Richardson presided over the executive session.

At the end of the executive session, Cozzie Watkins made a motion to return to public session. Betsy Wells seconded her motion. It was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

State Chair Wayne Goodwin presided over the rest of the meeting.

In public session Wendy May moved to adopt the actions taken in closed session by the Executive Council. Floyd McKissick seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.

Accordingly, the NCDP Executive Council unanimously affirms the entire decision of the Council of Review in the Higgs matter.

Rev. Higgs' appeal having failed and with the sustaining of the Council of Review decision, Rev. Higgs is immediately removed as Chair of the Edgecombe County Democratic Party and he can not hold a Democratic Party office for two years, and such other relief as outlined in the COR decision.

Notice will go to the affected Democrats. The Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:53PM.

> Respectfully submitted, Melvin Williams, Secretary North Carolina Democratic Party