October 11, 2018/Press

Vulnerable GOP Voted to Block Health Care Access. Now They Have to Explain it to the Voters.

Raleigh – Health care is on the ballot this November, despite Republican attempts to deceive voters on their voting records. And while Republicans across the state grapple with their past stances on expanding health care access, they’re also resorting to deceiving voters on where they stand on maintaining key consumer protections, including ensuring that people with a preexisting condition aren’t kicked off their health insurance. Republicans’ rhetoric doesn’t match their records, and the only way to expand access to health care and maintain protections for preexisting conditions is to vote out this legislature and break the majority. As CBC explained, “Only the loud voices of the voters, heralded from the ballot box, will bring about any change.”

CBC: Legislative candidates – Answer ‘yes’ when asked to expand Medicaid
By the Editorial Board
October 8, 2018

Among the critical issues before candidates for the North Carolina General Assembly, there is one more than any other that commands a simple and direct response.

Will you vote to abolish the prohibition and expand Medicaid health coverage to the more than 625,000 North Carolinians who don’t get it now even though they are eligible under current federal law?

Since 2013, the majority in the legislature has not simply blocked expansion, it has explicitly forbidden it. There are 71 Republicans on the November ballot who voted for the prohibition. Their names, and the counties they represent, are listed below. We hope they’ve seen the error of their ways and changed their minds. Given past behavior, we aren’t optimistic but still are hopeful.

Medicaid expansion isn’t some wild, radical notion. There are 34 states including Virginia, Arkansas, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, that have done it.

It isn’t some vast drain on the state treasury – the federal government has already designated the money. North Carolina taxpayers are helping fund expansion in those other states. We should have our federal tax dollars for Medicaid expansion working in North Carolina too.

Failing to expand Medicaid carries a HUGE cost to North Carolina – both in the health of our citizens and to the state’s economy. Every month the toll increases.

Since 2014:

The leadership of the North Carolina General Assembly — specifically Senate leader Phil Berger, R-Rockingham and House Speaker Tim Moore, R-Cleveland — could easily bring this neglect to an end. But their reflexive disdain for ANYTHING backed by former President Barack Obama prevents a change.

Only the loud voices of the voters, heralded from the ballot box, will bring about any change.
There is no legitimate excuse, no good reason, no justification not to expand Medicaid in North Carolina.
Every candidate for the General Assembly needs to let voters know where they stand on Medicaid expansion. Voters should support those who back it and reject those who don’t. Plain and simple.

See you at the polls.

Here’s the list of Republicans seeking election this year, who voted in 2013 to prohibit Medicaid expansion. The Senate roll call vote is here. The House of Representatives roll call vote is here.

Tamara Barringer: Wake County
Phil Berger: Guilford, Rockingham counties
Harry Brown: Jones, Onslow counties
Warren Daniel: Burke, Cleveland counties
Jim Davis: Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain counties
Rick Gunn: Alamance, Randolph counties
Kathy Harrington: Gaston County
Ralph Hise: Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Yancey counties
Brent Jackson: Duplin, Johnston and Sampson counties
Wesley Meredith: Cumberland County
Louis Pate: Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne counties
Ronald Rabin: Harnett, Johnston, Lee counties
Bill Rabon: Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender counties
Norman Sanderson: Carteret, Craven, Pamlico counties
Bob Steinburg: Beaufort, Dare Hyde, Washington counties
Jeff Tarte: Mecklenburg County
Jerry Tillman: Moore, Randolph counties
Tommy Tucker: Union County
Trudy Wade: Guilford County
Andy Wells: Alexander, Catawba counties

Dean Arp: Union County
Marilyn Avila: Wake County
John Bell: Craven, Greene, Lenoir, Wayne counties
William Brawley: Mecklenburg County
*William Brisson: Bladen, Johnson, Sampson counties
Mark Brody: Anson, Union counties
Dana Bumgardner: Gaston
George Cleveland: Onslow County
Debra Conrad: Forsyth County
Ted Davis: New Hanover County
Jimmy Dixon; Duplin, Wayne counties
Nelson Dollar: Wake County
Jeffrey Elmore: Alleghany, Wilkes counties
John Faircloth: Guilford County
Jon Hardister: Guilford County
Kelly Hastings: Cleveland, Gaston counties
Craig Horn: Union County
Julia Howard: Davie, Forsyth counties
Pat Hurley: Randolph County
Frank Iler: Brunswick County
Linda Johnson: Cabarrus County
Brenden Jones: Bladen, Columbus, Robeson counties
Jonathan Jordan: Ashe, Watauga counties
Donny Lambeth: Forsyth County
Chris Malone: Wake County
Pat McElraft: Carteret, Jones counties
Chuck McGrady: Henderson County
Allen McNeill: Moore, Randolph counties
Tim Moore: Cleveland County
Larry Pittman: Cabarrus County
Dennis Riddell: Alamance County
Stephen Ross: Alamance County
Jason Saine: Lincoln County
Mitchell Setzer: Catawba County
Phil Shepard: Onslow County
Michael Speciale: Beaufort, Craven, Pamlico counties
Sarah Stevens: Surry, Wilkes counties
John Szoka: Cumberland County
John Torbett: Gaston County
Rena Turner: Iredell County
Harry Warren: Rowan County